Unofficial Dario Marianelli Website

 Dario Marianelli Website  |   Return to the main site  |   Contact  





 Concert Work








Release date: Aug 30, 2007

Music Clips: 

Director: Asif Kapadia
by: Bertrand Faivre, Duncan Reid, Peter Touche
Screenplay: Asif Kapadia, Tim Miller, Sara Maitland (story)
Director of Photography: Roman Osin
Starring: Michele Yeoh (Savia), Sean Bean (Loki), Yang Yahui (Anja), Yang Hanui (Young Savia), Sophie Wu (Ivar), Neeru Agarwal (Ivar's Mother).

Company: The Bureau, Celluloid Dreams, Dreamachine, Film4, Ingenous Film Partners, PJB Picture Company
Distributors : Dreamachine / Celluloid Dreams

Official website: NOT AVAILABLE

Music Composed by Dario Marianelli
Orchestrated by Dario Marianelli, B. Wallfisch
Orchestra Conducted by Benjamin Wallfisch
Music Produced by Dario Marianelli

Plot summary:  A dark epic tale set in the harsh beauty of the Arctic where SAIVA and ANJA struggle to survive on the frozen wastes. They are forced further North to escape Soldiers taking over their homeland and settle on a desolate island. One day a figure, LOKI, appears on the ice and collapses, close to death. Despite her fears Saiva saves him. When Loki recovers, Saiva and Anja compete for his attention. A passionate relationship forms between Anja and Loki which leaves Saiva isolated. When the lovers plan to leave for a new life together, a desperate Saiva acts with terrifying and tragic consequences.